top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrian Silverman

Introduction: Cecilia and Brian


Brian


I remember one of the first times we got together. You said everyone is a racist. Everyone has some deeply rooted feelings that we must admit, and you must start there in order to heal.


It seems to me we're treating symptoms; people want to say it is police violence, but the core issue isn't that a policeman is violent. It is that inside him he's racist.


I wish we were closer.


Cecilia:


Closer in proximity?

Well, I think that's the thing with us. It does not matter how far apart we are. It's like we both had a desire to know the other person. Do you know what I'm saying?


Brian:


Yeah, your friendship is one at the top of the list that I cherish. I always talk about porch people that at the end of my days, there are people on the porch that I want rocking and talking to them; you're a founding member on that porch in my life.


Cecilia:


Yeah. It's strange that you have said to me before that you feel like you need to do something. I think we all feel that way.


We all feel like, what can we do but also in the back of your mind is the question, but will it work?


What am I trying to say is whatever we do is it going to work? Is it even worth it? Are we back to the same drawing board where we always get to where you try, you protest or whatever and nothing comes out of it?


Brian:


The interesting this about this conversation is that it will live online. If we change one or two people, think about that. They say with the pandemic it only takes one person to spread the virus in the room. So, we are spreading the idea that humans can do better.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page